Gabriel García Márquez 
Biography Works Links Home


Gabriel García Márquez was  born on  March 6, 1928 in Colombia. He is a major Colombian novelist and short-story writer who was awarded the Nobel Prize for literature in 1982. His masterpiece, One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967; Eng. trans., 1970), is a family saga that mirrors the history of Colombia. Like many of his works, it is set in the fictional town of Macondo, a place much like García Márquez's native Aracataca. Mixing realism and fantasy, the novel is both the story of the decay of the town and an ironic epic of human experience. García Márquez began his career as a reporter for El Espectador, for which he wrote (1955) a series of articles exposing the facts behind a Colombian naval disaster. These articles won him fame and were published in book form as Relato de un naufrago (The Account of a Shipwrecked Person, 1970). García Márquez's novel The Autumn of the Patriarch (1975; Eng. trans., 1976) again explores the theme of decay, this time by depicting with typical exaggeration and ironic humor the barbarism, squalor, and corruption that prevail during the reign of a Latin American military dictator. 

  • No One Writes to the Colonel (Eng. trans., 1968)
  • The Account of a Shipwrecked Person (1970)
  • In Evil Hour (1968; Eng. trans., 1979)
  • Leaf Storm, (Eng. trans.1972)
  • The Autumn of the Patriarch (1975; Eng. trans., 1976)
  • Innocent Erendira (Eng. trans., 1978)
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude (1978)
  • Chronicle of a Death Foretold (1981; Eng. trans., 1983)
  • The Fragrance of Guava (1982)
  • Love in the Time of Cholera (Eng. trans. 1988)

Márquez 's Visit to Georgetown University

Márquez at Books & Writers

Send questions or comments about the Web site to Dr. Seodial Deena, East Carolina University, Department of English, Multicultural Literature Program.